Hightech

Eine um sechs Monate verspätete Markteinführung kann den Gewinn um 33 % schmälern.1

Mit kürzeren Produktlebenszyklen in vielen Produktkategorien und schrumpfenden Gewinnmargen ist eine schnelle Markteinführung ein Hauptunterscheidungsmerkmal in einer stark wettbewerbsorientierten Branche. Denken Sie nur an Smartphones. Normalerweise gibt es bei einem Smartphone aufgrund seiner begrenzten Nutzungsdauer nur ein kleines Zeitfenster, in dem erstklassige Gewinne erzielt werden. Aufgrund der Notwendigkeit von Schnelligkeit und Sicherheit verlassen sich Unternehmen in den Bereichen Software, Halbleiter, Verbraucherelektronik, Mobilfunkdienstleister und Telekommunikationsausrüstung auf eine rechtzeitige und sichere Lieferung, damit ihr Produkt gewinnbringend eingeführt wird. Zudem besteht angesichts des schnellen Voranschreitens der Globalisierung ein wachsender Bedarf an Transparenz innerhalb der Lieferketten.

Eine weitere Herausforderung für Hightech-Unternehmen sind sich schnell verändernde Kunden- und Marktanforderungen. Unternehmen haben heutzutage nicht mehr die Möglichkeit einer hohen Lagerhaltung ihrer Fertigprodukte, da Vorräte innerhalb von Monaten nach ihrer Einführung an Wert verlieren oder veralten können. Sie müssen die Vorräte gering halten und das Inkasso ihrer Forderungen beschleunigen, um wirtschaftlich und effizient zu bleiben. Ansonsten ist das Betriebskapital, dass für die Entwicklung neuer Produkte oder die Unternehmensexpansion verwendet werden soll, in Warenbeständen gebunden.

Weltweit sind nur wenige Branchen so stark in Bewegung wie die Hightech-Industrie. Verlassen Sie sich auf UPS Capital mit einem breiten Portfolio an Produkten und Dienstleistungen, sowie bewährter Erfahrung und Logistikkompetenz, damit Sie der Schnelligkeit von Innovationen und dem globalen Wettbewerb gewachsen sind.

QUELLE: 1. Quality Science, Inc: „Higher Speed to Market = Higher Profits“ (Schneller am Markt = Höhere Gewinne)

High Tech

6 months late entry into the market can reduce profits by 33%

As the average life cycle for many product categories continues to shrink and margins get thinner, speed-to-market is a key differentiator in a highly competitive industry. Take the smartphone category. Typically, a phone only has a small window of premium profit opportunity because of its limited shelf life. Due to the need for speed as well as security, companies in the software, semiconductor, consumer electronic, wearables, wireless carrier and telecom equipment industries rely on timely and secure delivery to see profitable product launches. Plus, given the rapid pace of globalization, there’s a growing demand for supply chain visibility.

That’s why many high-tech companies count on UPS Proactive Response® Secure to provide 24/7 surveillance for their critical shipments. This one-of-a kind solution combines package intervention with proactive monitoring and has Flexible Parcel Insurance built right in to protect against unexpected expediting costs. In the event of a loss, it covers the full selling price of goods and not just the replacement value, significantly reducing the financial impact of disruptions.

Companies today don’t have the ability to pack warehouses with finished goods since inventory can depreciate or become obsolete within months of launch. They must keep inventory levels down and speed up collections to stay efficient. Otherwise, money that can be spent elsewhere, like on new product development or expansion, is tied up in inventory. To help free up working capital, Global Asset-Based Lending provides a revolving line by borrowing against foreign inventories and goods in transit. If liquidity is an issue, C.O.D. payment options can shorten the cash conversion cycle by accelerating payments.

Few industries in the world move as fast as high tech. Rely on UPS Capital® to keep up with the speed of innovation and global competition with our broad portfolio of products and services, proven industry expertise and global logistics capabilities.

More Products & Services for High Tech

Change in the (supply) chain

Get insights from high-tech executives on key supply chain topics—including emerging market expansion, nearshoring trends, customer experience improvements and product lifecycle management.

Read white paper

1. Quality Sciences, Inc, “Higher Speed to Market = Higher Profits”